Ask Board Games Games

How does Liliana’s Standard Bearer work if Kaervek the Spiteful is on the battlefield?

Let’s say one creature has died this turn. I have Kaervek, the Spiteful on the battlefield, and then I flash in Liliana's Standard Bearer. This card has an enters-the-battlefield trigger which says "draw X cards where X is the number of creatures that died this turn".

Obviously the Standard Bearer is going to die immediately to Kaervek’s static ability. When the enters-the-battlefield trigger resolves, does it count the Standard Bearer as a creature that died this turn?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *